Finished reading The Future by Alderman

It was a well written book. Easy to get through. Interesting cast of charachters who were easy to follow. The flow and adjacent stories fit well together. After reading so many articles on the risks of AI, I was not overly thrilled at the early, somewhat dystopian tech views. However, there were some great twists and I thoroughly enjoyed the end. The antagonists are recognizable characters in the real world, so it was fun putting real world faces on fictional characters.

I scratch my head sometimes at stories regarding the prepper community, religous cults, and overall dystopian perspectives of the future. The storyline did a good job weaving in and out of these topics in an engaging way. At the point I did not know how the story was going wrap up being aware of how many pages were left, I enjoyed how it came together in the end.

The book is featured as the December book at Books & Bars. I have attended in the past, but not for awhile. There can always be an excuse, but a goal to get back attending more. It does bring together two things I enjoy.

Ed Foppe @leelau_lessons