Finished reading: Factfulness by Hans Rosling 📚

I am typically not a fan of non-fiction with a significant use of numbers and charts, but I enjoyed Factfulness as it was such an uplifting message. Each stat and graph brought a smile to my face, especially as so many people I know are simply down on everything going on in the world. The daily news puts everyone in a funk, which is unnecessary when you think about how well things are going for most of the world.

For someone who has been labelled a toxic optimist it has been hard to keep the positivity up. Factfulness was a great reminder how much progress the world is making and how good life is when you take a step back.

The questions he posed at the beginning of the book were great and I did as poorly as most people he has presented the questions to. After reading the book I think I will dial back my time I spend each day consuming news. More does not seem better. I will add that the end of the book was super sad and worth it to make it to the last chapter.

Ed Foppe @leelau_lessons